F1 Drivers lined up for first race of the season this weekend

Formula One 2020
Formula One 2020

With the first race starting this weekend (March 20) in Melbourne, Australia the drivers for the 2016 seasons have now been lined up.

New for 2016 to the grid is American team Haas F1 Team based in Kannapolis, North Carolina. The team has signed up Roman Grosjean (FRA) and Esteban Gutierrez (MEX).

Newcomers to the grid: Rio Haryanto (IDN) and Pascal Wehrlein (GER) both in revamped Manor F1 team. Jolyon Palmer (GBR) has joined Renault which took over Lotus F1 in September 2015. Kevin Magnussen has returned to the grid with Renault after being released by McLaren in 2015 Season.

From last season we say bye for now to Pastor Maldonado and Roberto Merhi. Alexander Rossi is third driver with Manor. Will Stevens participates in the FIA World Endurance Championship with Manor Motorsport (not related to Manor F1 anymore).

This is set to become an exciting season!

 F1 logo Driver Nationality Team Engine
#44 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes Mercedes
#6 Nico Rosberg GER Mercedes Mercedes
#5 Sebastian Vettel GER Ferrari Ferrari
#7 Kimi Raikkonen FIN Ferrari Ferrari
#19 Felipe Massa BRA Williams Mercedes
#77 Valtteri Bottas FIN Williams Mercedes
#3 Daniel Ricciardo AUS Red Bull Tag-Heuer
#26 Daniil Kvyat RUS Red Bull Tag-Heuer
#27 Nico Hulkenberg GER Force India Mercedes
#11 Sergio Perez MEX Force India Mercedes
#20 Kevin Magnussen DEN Renault Renault
#30 Jolyon Palmer GBR Renault Renault
#33 Max Verstappen NED Toro Rosso Ferrari
#55 Carlos Sainz Jnr ESP Toro Rosso Ferrari
#9 Marcus Ericsson SWE Sauber Ferrari
#12 Felipe Nasr BRA Sauber Ferrari
#14 Fernando Alonso ESP McLaren Honda
#22 Jenson Button GBR McLaren Honda
#94 Pascal Wehrlein GER Manor Mercedes
#88 Rio Haryanto IDN Manor Mercedes
#8 Romain Grosjean FRA Haas Ferrari
#21 Esteban Gutierrez MEX Haas Ferrari

Source: formula1.com